top of page


    On April 28, 1926, fifteen premedical students at the University of Alabama met with Dr. Jack Montgomery, premedical advisor and professor of organic chemistry, to formalize the organization of a new premedical honor society. Baylor University, Samford University, the University of Texas, and the University of South Carolina established chapters in 1928/29. At the first national convention at the University of Alabama on April 18, 1930, ten members representing five chapters and one petitioning group were in attendance. From these modest beginnings, Alpha Epsilon Delta (AED) has become the worlds's largest Honor Society exclusively serving preprofessional health students, with a membership exceeding 160,000+ in 199 chapters. The Society is incorporated in the District of Columbia as a non-profit, educational organization. AED is affiliated with the American Association for the Advancement of Science and is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies.

Modern Architecture
Screen Shot 2018-08-30 at 4.37.50 PM.png
bottom of page